How To Turn Off Find My iPhone

0
167

In this blog post, I will explain what is find my iPhone and I will tell you how to turn off find my iPhone. Maybe you dislike this feature because you feel as though it is an invasion of privacy. Or maybe you are planning on selling your iPhone, whatever your reason may be you can follow the tips below to do this.

What Is Find My iPhone?

 

What Is Find My iPhoneFind my iPhone is an iOS feature that gives you the ability to remotely track iOS devices such as iPhones, iPads, Apple Watches, AirPods, and Mac computers.

 

This feature was implemented to give users the ability to locate lost or stolen Apple devices in a timely manner.

 

 

 

 

How Does Find My iPhone Work?

 

How Does Find My iPhone Work

When you sign in to the Find My iPhone app or when you sign in to iCloud.com you will see the exact location of your missing device on a map.

 

You have the ability to play a sound to locate it, if it’s close by.

 

There is also a Lost Mode which gives you the ability to track, lock, or remotely erase all your personal data to protect your privacy.

 

For the reasons I mentioned above, Apple recommends that all users should keep this feature enabled.

 

The Find My iPhone feature will only work if your iPhone is turned on and connected to the internet.

 

This means that it only has the ability to locate your iPhone if it’s online via a 3G, 4G, or 5G connection or via WiFi.

 

So if your iPhone is missing you must act fast because you have to find it before the battery dies.

 

However, if the battery is dead, this app will give you the ability to see it’s last known location.

 

This will help you to find your iPhone if it wasn’t moved after the battery died.

 

Some Reasons Why You May Be Interested In Disabling This Feature:

 

If you bought a used iPhone and the previous owner has not disabled Find My iPhone. You should disable the feature and unlink the iPhone from that person’s Apple ID.

 

However, you will have to acquire their Apple ID password to do this.

 

If you plan on selling your iPhone or passing it on to a friend or relative. You should disable the Find My iPhone feature before you get rid of the phone.

 

If you don’t disable it, the new owner will not be able to restore the iPhone to its factory settings unless they have your Apple ID password.

 

Regardless of what your reasons may be for wanting to turn this feature off, you can do it by following the directions below.

 

How To Turn Off Find My iPhone:

 

        1. Open the Settings app on your iPhone.How To Turn Off Find My iPhone
        2. Tap the Apple ID banner at the top with your name.
        3. Then tap iCloud.
        4. Scroll down then tap Find My iPhone.
        5. Tap the toggle button to turn it to the OFF position.
        6. When prompted enter your Apple ID password.
        7. Then tap Turn Off.

 

 

 

 

Those are the steps to follow to turn this feature off.

 

You should be aware that if you sign out of your iCloud account on an iPhone this will also disable Find My iPhone because it has to work through an iCloud account.

 

Now you know how to turn off find my iPhone so if you need to do this in the future. You can use the tips that I’ve provided in this blog post to assist you.

 

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here