If you’ve tried calling someone and have not been able to get through, there are several reasons as to why this has happened. However, there is a possibility that the person may have blocked your number. I will explain how to know if someone blocked your number.
Remember that it may or may not be obvious that your number has been blocked by the person on the other end.
To block an incoming call is usually a deliberate action. However, a number can be accidentally blocked. So it’s possible that your number may have been blocked by mistake.
How To Know If Someone Blocked Your Number On Android:
- Does the phone ring normally? If it does this means you should get at least five rings, in some cases you may get as many as fifteen rings.
- Does the phone ring just once or not at all? Are you quickly diverted to voice mail?
If your calls are being diverted almost immediately to voice mail, that is a good indication that your number may have been blocked. However, that is not the only reason why this may have occurred, you should consider all the possibilities first.
- The phone has been switched off
- The phone has been temporarily set to have all calls diverted to voice mail
Many people will shut their phone off or have all calls sent directly to voice mail for various reasons. So, you should simply leave a voice mail and not call back for a while.
How To Know If Someone Blocked Your Number On iPhone:
If you have been blocked on an iPhone, the person you’re trying to call will not receive anything from your phone.
This means that they do not get phone calls, messages, or notifications that you called. Their iPhone stays silent whenever you try to call them from your number.
However, it may be difficult to tell if you are blocked because the recipient can still receive voicemails.
The difference is whether you hear the phone ring several times and then it is sent to voicemail.
Or, whether it goes straight to voicemail with no rings. The latter means that you are likely blocked if this keeps reoccurring.
Another way to tell is by sending them a text message. If your iMessage goes through and is shown to be “Read” or that it has been “Delivered”, then you have not been blocked.
However, if the iMessage fails to go through after repeated attempts, then it is possible that you have been blocked, but there are alternative reasons for this:
- No cellular service
- Issue with iPhone
- iPhone is rebooting
These are three alternative reasons you should consider when trying to determine whether or not you have been blocked.
How To Contact That Person:
If you are not sure that you have been blocked, there are other methods you can use to determine this.
Use Another Number: This is usually the best and quickest way to know if you have been blocked on purpose.
Simply find another phone and call them from that phone. Leave a voicemail message, if they do not answer saying that you think you have been blocked.
Use Another Email: If you have several email accounts, you can use a different one to email them.
A private message via email is also fast and easy but remember that many people are used to receiving lots of emails so they may not see yours for a while.
Social Media: You can also message them on your social media accounts, such as Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Pinterest, etc.
A quick private message is preferable as you don’t want to assume that the block is on purpose if you have no reason to believe that it is.
Confirming That You Have Been Blocked:
While many people may be blocked by accident on an Android or iPhone, you know something more is going on when they block you from other platforms as well.
The most obvious is when you are “unfriended” on social media accounts such as Facebook.
If a person has gone through the tedious task of blocking you on more than just your phone, then it means what they did was deliberate.
This is when you need to be careful about what to do next. Most people do not get intentionally blocked unless there is a reason for it.
The most common is a disagreement, a misunderstanding, or if you are friends with someone that they have been having issues with.
When that happens, the best course of action is to make one attempt to contact them through other means, such as an email for example.
And leave a message that is polite and friendly. You shouldn’t try to force someone to talk to you if they don’t want to.
If it is a true misunderstanding, that person will get back to you over the course of time. Do not take any action beyond a simple message as things may get out of control if you do.
If you think you may have been blocked you can follow the steps mentioned above. However, it’s important to try to determine what you may have done to cause this.
How To Know If Someone Blocked Your Number On WhatsApp:
There are a few things you can look for that will allow you to determine whether or not you’ve been blocked:
- You are unable to see updates to the person’s profile photo.
- You attempt to call the person but the call does not go through.
- You can no longer see the person’s online or last seen in the chat window, learn more.
- All messages sent to a person who has blocked you will only show one check mark (message sent), and the second check mark (message delivered) will never show up.
- Create a WhatsApp group with the person, if you receive a message saying “you are not authorized to add this contact”, then you’ve been blocked.
If you notice all of the indicators mentioned above for a person you are trying to contact. This means that you have been blocked, WhatsApp has intentionally made this ambiguous in an effort to protect your privacy when you block someone.
If you have any comments or questions about any of this information, or if you would like to share your experience with us, please feel free to do so in the comment section below.